Finalists announced for 2021 Lake Mac Awards

Lake Mac Awards: 2020 Lake Mac Ambassador Rhonda Finlay with Mayor Kay Fraser at last year's awards. Picture: Lake Macquarie City Council
Lake Mac Awards: 2020 Lake Mac Ambassador Rhonda Finlay with Mayor Kay Fraser at last year's awards. Picture: Lake Macquarie City Council

A selection of Lake Macquarie's finest athletes, artists, environmental warriors, volunteers and ambassadors will be celebrated during the city's annual awards in March.

More than 40 finalists from 70 nominations have been announced for the 2021 Lake Mac Awards, which recognises the citizens that help make a valuable contribution to the local community.

Lake Macquarie Mayor Kay Fraser said the event was an important opportunity to acknowledge the city's selfless individuals and organisations.

"We are proud to announce our top nominees for each category and I would like to congratulate all nominees and finalists on their achievements and hard work they have done for our city," Cr Fraser said.

"It has been a difficult 12 months, but there have been some outstanding contributions from people and groups right across our community."

The COVID-Safe gala dinner will take place on Sunday, March 13 at Belmont 16s.

Tickets for the event are on sale for finalists now. Ticketing will open up to the public pending COVID restrictions closer to the event date.

The 2021 Lake Mac Awards finalists:

Lake Mac Ambassador: Beau Newell, Christine Speer, Ian Edwards, Jonathon Power, Margaret Morgan.

Lake Mac Young Citizen: Dylan Shoesmith, Jasmine Seidel, Roshaun Anil.

Lake Mac Rising Sports Star: Conner West, Emily Jones, Jake Riley, Phoenix Visscher, Rhiannon Dein.

Lake Mac Sports Star: Carl Thornton, Hannah Southwell, Jesse Southwell, Maxwell Bristow.

Lake Mac Sports Leader: Benjamin Jenkinson, Deborah Moore, George Poulos, Heath Anderson.

Lake Mac Volunteer of the Year: Ann-Maria Martin (Survivor's R Us Incorporated), Christine Langshaw (Wangi Library Knitting Group), Christine Speer (SES), Linda Foggo (Charlestown Caring Group), Maureen Turner (Rotary Club of Toronto), Tamara Barone (Cerebral Palsy Alliance - COVID-19 Response Team), Warwick Brittain (Swansea Lions Club).

Lake Mac Community Group of the Year: ARTea's Gallery & Garden, Awesome Lake Mac, City Serve Incorporated (Hello Hunter), Southlake's Incorporated, Swansea Meals on Wheels, The Big Hug Box.

Lake Mac Artist and Creator: Lake Macquarie Branch - Fellowship of Australian Writers, Leslie Duffin, Melody Jones, Michelle Schmitzer, Piper Butcher, Tracy Thomas.

Lake Mac Arts Leader: Deanne Newland, Jessica Conneely, Michelle Teear.

Lake Mac Environmental Leader: George Lopes (PrintStream), John Fitter (Central Rankin Park Landcare), Lois Simpson (Toronto Area Sustainable Neighbourhood Group, Coal Point Landcare), Peter Dalton and Gabrielle Stacey (Fern Creek Gully Landcare), Samantha Cross (Plastic Police).