Travel restrictions: What you need to know before you book

LINE UP: Police and soldiers at the Hume Highway checkpoint in Albury. Picture: Border Mail
LINE UP: Police and soldiers at the Hume Highway checkpoint in Albury. Picture: Border Mail

Australia is slowly emerging from COVID-19 restrictions - much to the relief of many of us who are itching to travel again. But exactly where we can go and which state borders are open to tourists remain tricky issues. Here's a state-by-state travel guide.


The ACT Government has closed its borders to travellers from Victoria. There are no restrictions for travellers from other states.


The border with Victoria has been temporarily shut to curtail the spread of coronavirus. There are no other restrictions on crossing the NSW border from other states, but travellers will need to comply with the rules of their home state when they return.

NSW residents can holiday anywhere in the state. Regional areas are welcoming visitors but travellers should book their accommodation in advance and call attractions to make sure they are open before travelling. Caravan parks and camping grounds are still open. Museums and galleries are open.

While pubs, clubs, cafes and restaurants are open, the rule of one person per four square metres applies and group bookings are limited to a maximum of 10 people.

Northern Territory

The Northern Territory opened its borders on July 17 and all visitors must complete a Border Entry Application prior to arrival. Anyone coming from or through a COVID-19 hotspot will have to quarantine for 14 days at a government facility at their own expense.


Borders in Queensland are open to most interstate travellers. However, any person who has been in Victoria or designated hotspot areas in Sydney will not be allowed to enter the state. The Queensland premier declared the entire greater Sydney region a hotspot on Tuesday, with the ban to come into effect at 1am on Saturday, August 1.

Holidaymakers travelling by road, rail or air must apply for a Border Declaration Pass prior to entry to Queensland.

Tourism experiences can operate for up to 50 people but must social distance. Restaurants, hotels and resorts are open with social distancing rules.

South Australia

The state continues to ban visitors from Victoria. Travellers from NSW and the ACT must self-quarantine for 14 days and complete a Cross Border Travel Registration. Visitors from other states are able to enter without any restrictions.


Tasmania is currently closed to interstate visitors but will open travel bubbles with the NT, SA and WA on August 7. Access for tourists from the ACT, NSW and Qld will be reassessed on August 7, but will not be available until at least August 14.


Travel to Victoria is not advised at this time. Melbourne and Mitchell Shire are under Stay at Home Directions. But Victorian residents who live outside these areas are still allowed to travel and stay in a holiday home, private residence or tourist accommodation including caravan parks and camping grounds. Ski resorts are open with restrictions.

Western Australia

Borders to WA remain closed. There are no plans to make any changes to border restrictions before August 7.

Stay safe: Holidaymakers are expected to practise social distancing, frequent hand washing and follow local advice. Information correct at press time - please check state government websites for the most up-to-date information.

While you're here... might also enjoy